BV Logo Header

Board Directors, Life Membership Confirmed at 2024 Baseball Victoria AGM

Baseball Victoria
16 February 2024

The 2024 Baseball Victoria AGM was held on Wednesday 7 February, with the election of three BV Board Directors and the awarding of BV Life Membership to a distinguished baseball volunteer.

Anna Ronald, Jessica Toop, and Geoff Boyes were elected as Directors of Baseball Victoria for a term of three years (2027).

“We are pleased to have Anna Ronald, Jessica Toop, and Geoff Boyes on the Baseball Victoria Board and look forward to working together to support baseball in Victoria,” BV CEO Chet Gray said. “Also, thank you to outgoing director Joanna O’Connor who made numerous contributions to our organisation in her six years on the BV Board. We wish her all the best.”

The AGM also resulted in a new Baseball Victoria Life Member, with Leanne Gibbons awarded this honour following decades of dedicated volunteering to support the Geelong baseball community.

Congratulations Leanne!

Leanne Gibbons Summary

Leanne has made a significant and long-term contribution to the sport of baseball throughout Victoria in the delivery of local and state representative competitions at both junior and senior levels. Currently, she is an active part of the 'Baycats' BC organisation having undertaken secretarial, event coordination, training, and compliance roles over the past decades. At an operational level, she has variously undertaken key volunteer resource roles as administrator,  scorer, Certificate level 3 scorer-trainer, junior coordinator, umpire coordinator and canteen manager, doing so across all levels - from grassroots to elite level - and within 3 clubs and the association to which those clubs belong. For these services she has received Life memberships at 2 clubs (Bellarine and Baycats BCs) and multiple Best Club Person Awards at Baycats BC. These awards deservedly illustrate what a committed and much-respected person Leanne is, and a testament to why the organisations she has been involved with over the years have, without exception, prospered and developed.

Leanne Gibbons

At the AGM, we also presented the inaugural Baseball Victoria Service Award winners:

  • Adrian Dunn (Waverley) - Service to Baseball Award for his dedication as a volunteer
  • Chris Rickard (East Belmont Saints) - Service to Baseball Award for extensive coaching at club and state level
  • Roland Stott (Newport) - Service to Baseball Award for 45 consecutive years as a coach and administrator
  • Andrew Gluth (Sandringham) - Outstanding Contribution Award for 20+ years umpiring junior baseball

Well done to all and we look forward to another great year of baseball ahead. If you would like to catch up on the year that was, please view the 2022/23 BV Annual Report on our website.

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram