BV Logo Header

Upwey Ferntree Gully and Newport Bring Home Premierships

Upwey Ferntree Gully won the VSBL Division 1 Firsts Premiership for the second year in a row while Newport claimed the flag in Division 2 Firsts to close out a huge weekend of baseball at Melbourne Ballpark.

The Tigers took a 1-0 series lead on Tuesday night after beating Waverley 3-1, but were challenged on Saturday as the Wildcats prevailed 7-4, taking it to game three.

Eager to lock in back-to-back premierships, the Tigers brought their A-game on Sunday, finishing 6-3 in front to seal the deal.

Jarrod Turner was awarded the Harry Wonnacott Medal after throwing the full nine innings, with 22 first-pitch strikes and a 1.22 WHIP.

Jack Ratcliffe led the team at the plate, going 2-for-4 with 2 RBIs. Donavon Hendricks, Josh Hendricks, Andrew Kane, and Ryder Wilson picked up hits too.

Waverley fell just short despite a great day at the plate for Mohi Kahui, collecting three hits and scoring two runs. Mitchell Homfray also had multiple hits.

Earlier in the day, the Division 2 Firsts Premiership was decided in a 4-0 shoutout as Newport defeated Williamstown in a thrilling battle of the burbs.

The Rams took game one 7-4 on Thursday night, but the Wolves brought their big bats on Saturday, winning 17-9.

It was a much closer contest on Sunday as Newport's David Tongue threw a complete game shutout, giving up just two hits with four strikeouts.

Williamstown got on base in the ninth with a Justin Gourlay single, but the Rams shut down the threat to secure the victory.

The Rams only had two hits themselves, with Ben Howard and Aaron Robson leading the charge as a four-run sixth inning made all the difference.

Congratulations to Upwey Ferntree Gully and Newport on their hard-earned premierships!

Well done to everyone on a fantastic summer season!

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram